musicians in the DR

seductress

Mar 12, 2005
i'm a musician who loves the DR and thinking of moving there... can anyone tell me what kind of music jobs are available in the DR? like working as a live musician? where i live we get payed pretty reasonably, about 100 USD every gig. is the pay similar in the DR and could it support me financially to live there?

Lechero

Aug 11, 2004
Are you serious?
An entire band makes less than $200 USD for 2 full sets!
I am a professional musician in the United States and can not depend on gigging to eat and support my travel addiction.

My advice, play for the love of performance and not as a profession, go to a few tipico venues and get friendly with a few musicians, perhaps buy the band a few Grandes. Maybe you can sit in once in a while!
Good luck!....What is your instrument, Yo soy una tamborista!

:eek:

Last edited:

seductress

Mar 12, 2005
i live in singapore not the states. and being a regular musican here means you can afford a small apartment if you get gigs regularily. are there any other music careers popular in the dr where pay can support you? im a jazz pianist lechero ;)

Buzzard

Feb 28, 2004
Costambar
Jazz in Cabarete

can be found at Miro's on Saturdays, featuring Roberto Santana, a gifted keyboard player. Local musician's often sit-in.
Pomodoro has jazz on Thursdays, featuring Alain, a great guitarist, with guest musicians, as well.
From my expierience (as a drummer), earning anything beyond gas money is really difficult. Jazz gigs are hard to find. I know one musician who takes a publico from Cabarete to Sousa, switches to a bus to Satiago, then a taxi to his gig. Stays overnight and returns the next day! Dedication to the art form exhibited, once again.

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
www.azconatechnologies.com
Most local musicians here are really damn good, not garage wankers like you find all too often in the US, also they generally have money from some other source. (source = mommy and daddy)