Current Cost of Living in Santo Domingo

mwgarretson

Mar 19, 2005
Would appreciate some advice.

I have been visiting for quite awhile (2 years) and am moving from Miami to Santo Domingo in a couple weeks for a 1-year employment contract.

The current exchange is about 28:1.

Will I be able to live comfortably on a $RD120,000 monthly income?

Thanks!

Michael

NotLurking

Bronze
Jul 21, 2003
Sto Dgo Este
RD$120k

Should be enough to live here in DR. (well managed you can even save some of that!) Your post lacks specificity on life style, family size and night life habits or desires therefore I can't provide much more info.

At any rate, if you offer more details you'll get a better response.

Good luck.

mwgarretson

Mar 19, 2005
Thanks NotLurking!

I just joined the site...it appears you are a wealth of good advice based on the posted threads.

I am single, 34 y/o...will bring my own car (is there really a first-time tax exemption for legal residents?). I am fully expecting to get the shaft at customs on this front.

I will start work shortly...full time.

I will probably go out often at first...but I have been there a lot from Miami, and I do speak spanish, so I can negotiate well with cabs, businesses, etc...

What about upfront deposits on apartments? I will be working in Naco...the prices there are outrageous. I look to live closeby?

I am looking to bring nothing for furniture...and am wondering if a furnished apt. is the way to go, or if I should buy the furniture for an empty place. Are there are large upfront deposits required to move in? I do have a cedula from my travels...I am a legal resident.

Many questions...sorry...but you appear to be a wealth of information!

Thanks,
MG

I

Ikill for money

you can have the best life in dr with that money