Breathing problems in S.D.??

NV_

Bronze
Aug 4, 2003
As an asthmatic living in S.D. , I was wondering if anyone else in the city is having trouble breathing these past 2 weeks?

At first I thought it mustve been my allergies just acting up but with all the reports of the forest fires I was starting to think that they may be the problem. As far as I can see, the air over the city, has "looked" (no indications of smoke around Las Praderas) clean but you never know.

Was starting to wonder if I should just ride it out or start looking through the old suitcases for my nebulizer...

Naufrago

Sep 1, 2004
Funny you should mention that, I was just thinking today that the air quality has been pretty poor lately. Of Course the usual diesel fumes and smell of something burning would probably give asthmatics trouble on any day. Take care of yourself, I know how serious your ailment can be.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
There is alot of dust in the air lately. Notice the unusually level of haze? It's the dust.

It could either be one of two things creating this dust:

1. Either the trade winds are picking up extra dust from the dry soil. It's been a while since a good shower has come our way.

or

2. Another gigantic dust storm has come off shore from the Sahara Desert (yes, Sahara as in Africa), enough dust was carried across the ocean by the trade winds and now they are being deposited over the Caribbean islands, our island being no exception. These things happens on occasion, in fact the extra dust settling in the Caribbean from this is one of the culprit for the devastation of our coral reefs, though fishermen have done their share of damage.

However, I have not seen any reports of unusual haze in San Juan, Puerto Rico so I suspect its number one. If the Sahara dust was the case, then Puerto Rico would had been under poor air quality advisory and/or warning.

Try to spend as much time indoors in an air condition place. Besides, it has been rather hot lately.