Do You Pay Child Support In D.r

davoucci19

Apr 9, 2005
Iwas wondering if when you move to d.r from the states and your child lives in the states does the goverment still gets you for child support ? even if your overseas :eek:

rellosk

Silver
Mar 18, 2002
davoucci19 said:
Iwas wondering if when you move to d.r from the states and your child lives in the states does the goverment still gets you for child support ? even if your overseas :eek:
I am not an expert, but common sense says you are still liable to pay. However, I don't believe they will chase you down in the DR. They'll probably catch you when re-entering the country, if the child's mother has issued a warrant.

BTW, I'm hoping you were asking theoretically. The DR doesn't need anymore deadbeat Dad's.

davoucci19

Apr 9, 2005
rellosk said:
I am not an expert, but common sense says you are still liable to pay. However, I don't believe they will chase you down in the DR. They'll probably catch you when re-entering the country, if the child's mother has issued a warrant.

BTW, I'm hoping you were asking theoretically. The DR doesn't need anymore deadbeat Dad's.
I was curious about it had a conversation with my best friend and she told me her baby's daddy is moving to D.R and she asked me about it and I didnt know the answer.....now of course common sense will tell me when they come back of course they will have an issue but my question is while they are there..if it also applies.... :squareeye

Last edited:

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
rellosk said:

Since they are now at 100% they can't have more unless the deadbeats go back to the same girls and impregnate them a second (third, fourth) time.

Wag

Feb 4, 2005
They could....

I am in that situation myself. Let me start by saying that you should pay child support regardless of where in the globe you are.

Having said that.