Emergency medical visa/documentation

thomasfrank

Mar 27, 2005
Hello,
I am an administrator of a rural clinic in the DR, and I am trying to bring a patient to the States for heart surgery. The child is as of now undocumented. His mother wants to declare him and the father, though alive, does not support the child. His heart condition is serious and he needs surgery urgently. Can anyone tell me how I can go about getting him a Visa and Passport in the least amount of time possible. What are the steps from declaring him to putting him on the plane? Is there a special process for temporary visas for medical emergencies?
Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Thomas

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
I suggest you check in first with the Hospital General Materno Infantil de la Plaza de la Salud, in Santo Domingo. They do all kinds of open heart surgery operations on kids, and if your child applies, their social services program will cover it free of charge...

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I have to agree with Mirador

The process to declare a child is now fairly long and complicated. This is just one of the tens of thousands of NON-Existing people in the DR. They are beyond the pale.

Late declarations of children have to go to Santo Domingo and go before a judge now..

How is it you are managing a rural clinic?

HB :D:D

thomasfrank

Mar 27, 2005
Thanks for your responses. I have checked with the cardiologists at La Angelita children's hospital, and the severity of the child's heart problem is such that surgery cannot be performed here. I may have found an organization in the states that can perform the surgery, but getting the child a visa is my responsibility.