Advice needed on Malaria medicine/prevention

Professora

May 8, 2005
Will be moving from the US to the DR, long term, in July. What kind of anti-malaria medicine would you advise I bring? There are several on the market.
Thanks in advance for your help.

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
During the Malaria Outbreak Notices for the East Coast (which have since been rescinded) there was mention that the recommended prophalaxis for the DR was chloroquine, but this should be discussed with your doctor.

Gregg

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Professora said:
Will be moving from the US to the DR, long term, in July. What kind of anti-malaria medicine would you advise I bring? There are several on the market.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Where will you be moving to? Is there some reason why you think it is necessary to have anti-malaria medicine? I've been doing without it for 19 years, but if there is some reason why you think it is necessary, I'll be interested in hearing it.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I agree, like most always, with Ken

Unless you are going to be working with sugar cane workers or near the Haitian border or as a Peace Corps Volunteer or something similar, I would not recommend anything.

Some good bug spray-the local stuff -Deporte- is good and dirt cheap...

And mosquito nets at night are all I have used for more that 40 years....

If I go where there are mosquitos, long sleeves and bug spray. Simple..

HB :D:D

rubycatalina

Sep 21, 2004
Malaria In Dr

try the public health agency of canada website- www.phac-aspc.gc.ca
they have recent info on malaria in the dr and recommendations. again it depends where you will be living and travelling. and don't forget the risk of dengue, also mosquito- borne.

Professora

May 8, 2005
Ken said: