The Chinese, the Chinese, the Chinese are coming!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Since the Chinese are some of the most interesting immigrant groups to this country of ours, I am usually fond of any information I find about them. In fact, I am fond of any information I find of any immigrant group that came here legally, now if illegal, then we are at odds.

Anyhow, I found this interesting piece about the Chinese community here (more specifically in Santo Domingo). This is part of a bigger article on the Chinatowns in Latin America...

Dominican Republic

While Havana's Barrio Chino is struggling for self-preservation, a new bustling Chinatown in the Dominican Republic thrives, in that country's capital city Santo Domingo, on Avenida Duarte. While serving the local Chinese community with at least 40 immigrant-run businesses, it is also promoted as a tourist attraction. The development of Chinatown is now gaining momentum, and a new gateway arch is in development. The first Chinese, including other Spanish-speaking Chinese, came from other Caribbean islands. Other first-generation Chinese immigrants came from Hong Kong and Taiwan in 1970s. Chinese became the second-largest non-Latino community in the 1980s.

Source:
http://www.answers.com/topic/chinatowns-in-latin-america

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
Have heard that big Chinese money is investing in luxury real estate in the DR, with lots invested in the attractive second home luxury developments along the East Coast.

NewinSantiago

May 24, 2005
Nal0whs said:
I am fond of any information I find of any immigrant group that came here legally, now if illegal, then we are at odds.

Illegal, legal?? What difference does it make?? As far as I know, neither the Spaniards nor the Africans had tourist visas when they settled in the Dominican Republic. Am I saying most Dominicans are direct descendants of illegal immigrants?? Yes, I am. So, what's the big deal with illegal immigrants??

carina

Silver