Hepatitis C

ggn420

Brain Doner
Apr 21, 2005
Does Anyone That Lives In The Dr Have Any Information Or Know Anyone Living With Hepatitis C ? This Is A Growing Problem In The States With Very Little Awareness.being In A Third World Country With Limited Medical Resources I'm Curious As To How It Is Treated.

TEHAMA

Feb 3, 2004
I am not a doctor, but from what i've read the current available treatment for Hep C has proven more effective in Caucasian populations than in other ethnic groups.

I am most interested to hear what others may have on this subject.
TEHAMA

May 12, 2005
Its my understanding that Hep C is incurable and ultimately leads to need for liver transplant. There is a hepatitis vaccine available. Its a series of 3 shots. check with your physician for more info.

ggn420

Brain Doner
Apr 21, 2005
TEHAMA said:
I am not a doctor, but from what i've read the current available treatment for Hep C has proven more effective in Caucasian populations than in other ethnic groups.

I am most interested to hear what others may have on this subject.
TEHAMA
Actually there are 4 genotypes, type 1 is the hardest to cure with 48 weeks of treatment and onlt a 50% responce to the interferon medication. Types 2 and 3 are of european, asian and caribbean strains, and are easier to treat requireing 24 weeks of treatment. Thanks for your comment, I too am looking foward to others input. It is a very interesting topic, hot issue in the states....

ggn420

Brain Doner
Apr 21, 2005
Hep C

fko1 said:
Its my understanding that Hep C is incurable and ultimately leads to need for liver transplant. There is a hepatitis vaccine available. Its a series of 3 shots. check with your physician for more info.
I think you are confuseing it with Hep B. Hep B has the vaccine that you are talking about, Hep C is curable, but only with an expensive medication(interferon) that I would think is not available in the DR. There is no vaccine for Hep C

Escott

Gold
Jan 14, 2002