Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hepatitis C

Brain Doner
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Hepatitis C

Does Anyone That Lives In The Dr Have Any Information Or Know Anyone Living With Hepatitis C ? This Is A Growing Problem In The States With Very Little Awareness.being In A Third World Country With Limited Medical Resources I'm Curious As To How It Is Treated.

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

I am not a doctor, but from what i've read the current available treatment for Hep C has proven more effective in Caucasian populations than in other ethnic groups.

I am most interested to hear what others may have on this subject.
    TEHAMA

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Its my understanding that Hep C is incurable and ultimately leads to need for liver transplant. There is a hepatitis vaccine available. Its a series of 3 shots. check with your physician for more info.

Brain Doner
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by TEHAMA
    I am not a doctor, but from what i've read the current available treatment for Hep C has proven more effective in Caucasian populations than in other ethnic groups.

I am most interested to hear what others may have on this subject.
    TEHAMA
    Actually there are 4 genotypes, type 1 is the hardest to cure with 48 weeks of treatment and onlt a 50% responce to the interferon medication. Types 2 and 3 are of european, asian and caribbean strains, and are easier to treat requireing 24 weeks of treatment. Thanks for your comment, I too am looking foward to others input. It is a very interesting topic, hot issue in the states....

Brain Doner
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Hep C

Quote Originally Posted by fko1
    Its my understanding that Hep C is incurable and ultimately leads to need for liver transplant. There is a hepatitis vaccine available. Its a series of 3 shots. check with your physician for more info.