My Latest Adventure To Santo Domingo

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002
Driving through one barrio I suddenly here a thump on right side of my Pathfinder. I said to my wife...what was that. We look around and don't see anything...so I keep driving. I get down about a quarter of a mile and a pasola cuts me off and says I better go back because I hit a pasola. Now, I am a very alert driver, very careful. So of course I am confused. When I continue on because of traffic and while discussing the matter with my wife...another pasola pulls along side and the guy says that his pasola is the one I hit...that his son was on the back at the time and he wants me to pay him to take his son to the hospital and get him checked out. It took me a while to piece it all together but once I did I just punched the acclerator and got out of there. Of course it was a scam. I never hit anyone. He hit me intentionally or by accident. Perhaps he turned into me abruptly and once I continued on he decided to turn the stakes and go after me and say I hit him...in hopes of getting some money. Why would he go after me in my jeep and leave his son back on the road?

Well I hope I am right and I did not hurt his son. But my instincts told me it was a scam and I knew that if I went back I might get drawn into something dangerous. So I went on without paying him any money.

Such is life here in the DR.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
I'm sure a scam.

Funny you should talk about bumps and Pathfinders, I had someone bump into mine on Friday night. The driver that hit me didn't stop, I guess he had no insurance or was drunk, or both. Not an unusual combination here.

Oh well.... so much for the 20% no claims bonus.

pathfinder_1.jpg

pathfinder_2.jpg

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Your instincts were right - it is a scam.