The Class System

Status
Not open for further replies.

yvette

Jun 18, 2004
As I have read different threads on the dr1 forum I noticed that one's class status is very important. What is the history behind this and why does it seem more of an issue than race?

Yvette

carina

Silver
Mar 13, 2005
yvette said:
As I have read different threads on the dr1 forum I noticed that one's class status is very important. What is the history behind this and why does it seem more of an issue than race?

Yvette

Social status is most important, that is what your name carries and it is honored.
Money counts too, but you can have high social status in the society without having money. Just having money and no social status is not the same.

Addition: Another thing considered is who you socialize with, and who your friends are...

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
yvette said:

Yvette
Class status is extremely important, nothing tops that, except maybe family.

All other things (money, skin color, gender, even nationality) comes in second place.

The reasons are many (as usual), but we can be sure that its one of those European cultural traits that still is alive and well in this society.

For instance, among the upper classes many things revolve around the family and acquaintances rather than social clubs, though the latter is also used. However, friendship and family is from where business partners are created through a developing trust. Life among the upper classes tends to be conservative and very close, not too welcoming to outsiders though sometimes outsiders are accepted in the inner circle. There is a rift between old money and new money and also between rich from the Cibao and the rich from the capital.