Moving to the DR!!

sean2005

Jul 4, 2005
Hi my names Sean and i am moving to the DR with my father on the 25th of july.......This is my first time on the forum and am hoping to get some good advice. I have a couple things i would like to have some knowledge about before going. First of all i plan on finishing my high school there and speak no spanish what so ever...Is this gunna be a problem or do they offer high school programs in english?What's it like being a canadian in the DR and trying to find part time work for myself ?Will dominicans be hard to communicate with not knowing any spanish ???I do plan on studying spanish as well but am going to concentrate first on getting my high school.My father thinks its a bad idea for me to buy a pocket translator thinks "its the easy way out"....Any comments?? thanks for reading and hope to hear from you all soon .

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
sean2005 said:
Hi my names Sean and i am moving to the DR with my father on the 25th of july.......This is my first time on the forum and am hoping to get some good advice. I have a couple things i would like to have some knowledge about before going. First of all i plan on finishing my high school there and speak no spanish what so ever...Is this gunna be a problem or do they offer high school programs in english?What's it like being a canadian in the DR and trying to find part time work for myself ?Will dominicans be hard to communicate with not knowing any spanish ???I do plan on studying spanish as well but am going to concentrate first on getting my high school.My father thinks its a bad idea for me to buy a pocket translator thinks "its the easy way out"....Any comments?? thanks for reading and hope to hear from you all soon .

There are private high schools in English. If you tell us where you will be, we can tell you if one is nearby.

Dominicans are very friendly. You won't have any trouble getting acquainted. Just be selective in your friends as you are where you are now.