Motoconchos!

DogsRule

Apr 14, 2004
Do the nitwits that drive these things have any licensing requirements?! I have been driving for over 30 years with a spotless record, and in 7 months I have nearly wiped out 2 of these nuts! It's all well and good to laugh (because it's better than crying) and shake your head in bewilderment at these fools who pass on the right, cut you off, take red lights as a suggestion if they even consider them at all, drive headlong at you on the wrong side of the road, drive at night with no lights, etc. etc. etc., but when you nearly kill a human being--no matter how stupid he is--it is not funny. It is nearly impossible to make a turn at any major intersection, such as the corner of Kunhart and the North Coast Highway, because even if the light is working (rarely!) motoconcho drivers (and I use the term loosely) apparently feel those traffic signals do not apply to them! (Taxi drivers come in a close second!) I suppose because these guys have no money to speak of the policia look the other way. I live in dread of the day I forget to check my side mirror before making a signalled right hand turn and have to live the rest of my life with the knowledge that I killed another person.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
The situation will not change until AMET decides to pay attention to this problem, rather than just stand around at gringo locations, looking for seatbelts. The fines levied for not wearing seatbelts are obviously more attractive than public safety.
They could clean the motoconcho problem up in one week flat, if they wanted to.
It's as simple as that.

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
Here are some official stats (Oficina T?cnica de Transporte Terrestre -OTTT) (pronounced: oh-teh,teh,teh)