Dominican time.....

jellylegs2002

Apr 9, 2005
Im not sure if this is the right place to be posting this, so sorry if its not but..... I'm looking for a job in puerto plata from the end of october for 3-6 months (2005) I'm learning spanish but not yet fluent. I have a lot of dancing experience and experience with children. If anyone knows of ne where or anything, it would be a great help. I have emailed some local schools about teaching english but its seems that they like the term 'dominican time' and so i am yet to hear back from them, and am hoping to sort something asap so i can arrange accommodation (possibly with larry, but obviously need to let him know so he can keep it free!!) and flights etc. thanks

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
From your posts I would hope that your decision to move to the DR isn't based on one vacation in a resort in Luperon and you have not seen or experienced life outside the resort.

There's so much to learn so please do a lot of searching.

Jobs are not easy to come by. Yes everyone says, it's not the money, but how will you live and eat and pay your rent?

Are you bringing enough money to support yourself for a few months until you find a job? Do you have any idea what the average jobs pays? Could you live on that?

If you don't get residency which is around 1500 US you will be working illegally. These are things that people need to know before moving.

jellylegs2002

Apr 9, 2005

Anna Coniglio said:
From your posts I would hope that your decision to move to the DR isn't based on one vacation in a resort in Luperon and you have not seen or experienced life outside the resort.

There's so much to learn so please do a lot of searching.

Jobs are not easy to come by. Yes everyone says, it's not the money, but how will you live and eat and pay your rent?

Are you bringing enough money to support yourself for a few months until you find a job? Do you have any idea what the average jobs pays? Could you live on that?