Int'l Phone Service from Samana Peninsula

Cyd

Sep 11, 2003
Hello -- I'm a freelance editor in Canada, and I've had enough of winter! This year I'm going to experiment with the so-called flexibility of my job and stay for several months at a place I discovered last year in Las Terrenas. The owner has satellite Internet connection so I'll be able to do 85% of my job that way. But the other 15% is via telephone. He's assured me that there's no problem, that we can get Orange cellular service (there's no phone in my apartment), but when I checked their rates (most of my calls will go to the US) it seems like it's going to be cost-prohibative. Each client call takes about an hour, and I have about 10 clients to call each month.

Does anyone have any advice about reducing the cost of calls to the U.S. from DR? I'm open to anything!

(p.s. Already checked out VOIP, the Internet connection isn't fast enough.)

Thanks for any advice!

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
You can make land-line telephone calls from the Verizon office for less than by cellular. Whether enough less, you will have to decide.

ggn420

Brain Doner
Apr 21, 2005
Ken said:
You can make land-line telephone calls from the Verizon office for less than by cellular. Whether enough less, you will have to decide.
You can purchase $25US of time from www.tel3advantage. They will give you another $5 free. You access a 800 number then dial as usuall. There rates are between 7.5 and 8 cents depending on weather it's a lineland or mobile phone you're calling. With your "pin" number, you can call from any phone in the world. Audio quality is excellent.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
ggn420 said: