Condo Purchasing Information Needed Por Favor

eso_mami

Jun 1, 2005
Hola,

I am hoping someone with past experience can help me with this....I am looking for information on steps to go about purchasing a condo or an apartment in Puerto Plata. I am a resident of Canada and I plan on moving to Puerto Plata in the next year or so. Could anyone help me please....

muchas gracias,
eso mami

Last edited:

Escott

Gold
Jan 14, 2002
www.escottinsosua.blogspot.com
eso_mami said:
Hola,

I am hoping someone with past experience can help me with this....I am looking for information on steps to go about purchasing a condo or an apartment in Puerto Plata. I am a resident of Canada and I plan on moving to Puerto Plata in the next year or so. Could anyone help me please....

muchas gracias,
eso mami

BAM

Identify the condo that turns your fancy

Make a low offer and negotiate as hard as you can in an up market

Come to terms with the owner based on YOUR attorney holding the money until it closes

Give a deposit to your attorney to hold in escrow

Pay the balance at closing after your attorney does due diligence

Now get your Arse to my Thanksgiving Party and meet all your neighbors!

Congrats!!

BAM

snowbird44

Oct 29, 2004
Very good advice

Escott said:
BAM

Identify the condo that turns your fancy

Make a low offer and negotiate as hard as you can in an up market

Come to terms with the owner based on YOUR attorney holding the money until it closes

Give a deposit to your attorney to hold in escrow

Pay the balance at closing after your attorney does due diligence

Now get your Arse to my Thanksgiving Party and meet all your neighbors!

Congrats!!

BAM

but don't stop there. Once you have found your condo, get a good lawyer. Do your homework before you buy and ask lots of questions.
How stable is the condo corporation financially? get financial statements from previous years.
Are there any debts?
Is there a reserve fund? How large?