The viability of Dominican tourism in a post-Fidel Caribbean...

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It has come to my attention for several months now that people (on DR1 at least) have this notion of Dominican tourism being devastated once Cuba comes in full fledge.

The question now is this: Why people believe this?

I, for one, believe that our tourism will not be hurt by the entry of Cuban tourism full fledge into the Caribbean scene for the following reasons:

1. There has never ever been a case where a country in the Caribbean develops its tourism industry and then is destroyed by competition. When the Dominican Republic came into the tourism scene, the dominant tourist players in the Caribbean (primarily Puerto Rico and Jamaica) were worried that they will be destroyed by the fast growing Dominican tourism. What has happened?

Dominican Republic leads the Caribbean in terms of tourists arrivals, hotel room numbers, and overall tourist related economic activities. Have Puerto Rico, Jamaica, and the lesser antilles been destroyed? Hardly, despite the fact that the DR has added around 60,000 to 70,000 hotel rooms to the Caribbean market.

The only island nations in the Caribbeans that developed their tourism and then got it destroyed was Monserrat and Haiti, however competition had nothing to do with either demise. Montserrat was destroyed by its very own volcano when it erupted in the mid-1990s and Haiti's tourism died under Baby Docs iron fist and subsequent negative impacts, including Haiti being blamed for the Aids epidemic and the multiple revolutions and coups in the past few decades.