Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    109
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Any computer geeks out there?

    If anyone has any expertise and would PM me, my computer is acting very wierd. All is fine except internet WHEN I HAVE TO INPUT DATA. If I go to a search engine and try to type in a search, the computer won't accept any data. The curser doesn't appear in the entry box, and the typing doesn't show up. Otherwise, it works ok (like if I go to MSN home page and click on an article, it will take me to it, etc.) The problem is only if I have to type something, like, e.g. my user name or password in Yahoo, hotmail, or Banco Popular on-line. Just won't accept any data or even register the curser! Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Silver
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,693
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DogsRule
    If anyone has any expertise and would PM me, my computer is acting very wierd. All is fine except internet WHEN I HAVE TO INPUT DATA. If I go to a search engine and try to type in a search, the computer won't accept any data. The curser doesn't appear in the entry box, and the typing doesn't show up. Otherwise, it works ok (like if I go to MSN home page and click on an article, it will take me to it, etc.) The problem is only if I have to type something, like, e.g. my user name or password in Yahoo, hotmail, or Banco Popular on-line. Just won't accept any data or even register the curser! Any suggestions?
    Try go in "start" and chose "help & support" and then "system restore", chose a date that is before the computer started to act weird, when you have the option to chose a date, and hopefully it will be gone.

  3. #3
    DR1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DogsRule
    If anyone has any expertise and would PM me, my computer is acting very wierd. All is fine except internet WHEN I HAVE TO INPUT DATA. If I go to a search engine and try to type in a search, the computer won't accept any data. The curser doesn't appear in the entry box, and the typing doesn't show up. Otherwise, it works ok (like if I go to MSN home page and click on an article, it will take me to it, etc.) The problem is only if I have to type something, like, e.g. my user name or password in Yahoo, hotmail, or Banco Popular on-line. Just won't accept any data or even register the curser! Any suggestions?
    spyware... Have you scanned your computer with updated definitions?

  4. #4
    Silver
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,693
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert
    spyware... Have you scanned your computer with updated definitions?
    That is always number 1... if it doesn´t work, do a restore.

  5. #5
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You might have to go into safe mode to resolve the problem, specially if it's a virus.
    If you live in the Sosua area, give me a buzz.
    I bet we can kill the monster living in your computer.

  6. #6
    Gold
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    7,668
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Answer these questions and Rocky and I can possibly fix this for you online.
    Tell us which operating system you are on? If you are on XP, please do not restore. If this is a virus, malware, spyware or crimeware, the bad code usually hides itself in the XP roll-back files. A restore will make the problem worse.
    Tell us which malware software / virus software you have loaded. Example, Macafee virusscan or Spybot search and destroy.

    Update your virusscan definitions and scan your computer for virusses. Update your malware/spyware definitions and scan your computer for malware/spyware. Turn your computer off, and then on again and scan again. See if you can set your malware/spyware software to scan on boot. If the scanners find anything, let them repair it. Then tell us what happens. Some bad code needs more than one malware scanner as none of these catch everything.

    I assume your keyboard is working? Note that this process is good for XP. If you are running another operating system, let us know. If it is a virus/malware, this all is step one.

  7. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carina
    That is always number 1... if it doesn´t work, do a restore.
    Problem is that if it is a virus or spyware, there is a chance that it is also present in the previous backup.

    Try this link for a free virus scanner: http://free.grisoft.com/doc/Get+AVG+FREE/lng/us/tpl/v5

    Here is a free spyware removal:
    http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10...age&tag=button

    Here is a free spyware preventor: You just need to run this once and update it once in a while:
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    Last edited by Wag; 09-13-2005 at 10:51 AM. Reason: Add links

  8. #8
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wag
    Problem is that if it is a virus or spyware, there is a chance that it is also present in the previous backup.

    Try this link for a free virus scanner: http://free.grisoft.com/doc/Get+AVG+FREE/lng/us/tpl/v5

    Here is a free spyware removal:
    http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10...age&tag=button

    Here is a free spyware preventor: You just need to run this once and update it once in a while:
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    Most modern virus' attack the system restore area as well, to ensure you cannot easily get rid of it.
    Logging on in "safe mode" will help you install, remove, kill virus, etc.
    Those links you gave are excellent.
    I use all 3 of them and a few other devices to help speed up & protect my PC's.

  9. #9
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    109
    Post Thanks / Like

    Unhappy Oh My God

    I hate to tell you what an uninformed user I am. I am using XP. I do suspect it is something in the restore b/c that's when the computer crashed initially--when I tried to go back to restore an earlier date b/c my HP Photo program wasn't opening. When I did that, it crashed completely and the icons would not come on my computer desktop. A friend of a friend came over and got some driver file that it said it was missing,browseui.dll, reinstalled, and then the icons came back. But with the new problem described in the op. I don't know which malware/software virus/software I have installed. I think it is Norton antivirus. I also don't know how to do the scan and updates that you suggested. I also don't know how to start-up in safe mode. I'm in Puerto Plata, not Sosua.

  10. #10
    Honorificabilitudinitatibus
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    13,844
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DogsRule
    I hate to tell you what an uninformed user I am. I am using XP. I do suspect it is something in the restore b/c that's when the computer crashed initially--when I tried to go back to restore an earlier date b/c my HP Photo program wasn't opening. When I did that, it crashed completely and the icons would not come on my computer desktop. A friend of a friend came over and got some driver file that it said it was missing,browseui.dll, reinstalled, and then the icons came back. But with the new problem described in the op. I don't know which malware/software virus/software I have installed. I think it is Norton antivirus. I also don't know how to do the scan and updates that you suggested. I also don't know how to start-up in safe mode. I'm in Puerto Plata, not Sosua.
    OK. That's clear enough.
    If you bring it here to Sosua, just the PC, nothing else, we can either cure it or re-install XP over the old one.
    If you have your own XP disk, bring it along, if not, we have one here.
    There is a good chance that it can be healed without re-installing, of course, but if you are not familiar with PC's and do not know how to get into safe mode, you may have a lot of trouble doing it yourself.
    The other alternative is to take it to a technician, but they may just wipe everything out and you could lose all your files.
    It may be worth the ride to Sosua.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •