Jobs...

L

lovesthebeach

I have a question and have been reading the threads to see if I can find any info and have come up with nothing....

Hopefully someone can answer my question and/or direct me to a previous thread.

I am considering a short term move to Puerto Plata with a possibility of staying permantly.....depending on how well or not well the short term goes!!

In the short term, I am considering a minimum 4-6 month stay...yes with my boyfriend.....to see if he is the one or not! (Please no comments about this....just interested in the job info)

While I am there I will be checking out potential long term work opportunities.

My background is event planning & hospitality sales/marketing (weddings, conferences, corporate & social catering).

My question is....

Is there a market for this is the Dominican Republic? And if so.....can anyone provide me with any information?

I have considered starting my own business as an option.....

Still new to this but have been doing a lot of research and am now at the point of seriously considering the move.

Any info would be appreciated!

Thanks
LTB

carina

Silver
Mar 13, 2005
The answer to work here, no matter of field, is knowing the area, knowing the culture, knowing the language, and networking, networking....

As for Puerto Plata, most holiday & wedding, conference planning is taken care of by the AIs, and none has foreign staff for this.
Foreigners are, as posted by many in other threads, hired for commission based works such as selling tours, at vacationclubs if they have specific language skills etc etc.
Companies are also only allowed to have 1/5 of the staff being foreign.
Further more, from a visitors/short term visitors point of view, it is also a matter of money. None of this pays you more than about 150-200 US a month.

L

lovesthebeach

carina said:
The answer to work here, no matter of field, is knowing the area, knowing the culture, knowing the language, and networking, networking....