Dominican Economic Size Comparison

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here is a comprehensive comparison of the size of the Dominican economy vs. others in the region and the world. Every monetary figure is in US Dollars.

2004 estimated size of the global economy $55 trillion (that?s a lot of money!)

2004 estimated size of Dominican economy $55,680,000,000.

Dominican economy is 0.1% of the world?s economy.

2004 estimated size of the United States economy $12 trillion (the world?s largest)

Dominican economy is 0.46% of the size of the US economy.

69% of the world?s countries have economies that are smaller than the Dominican economy.

Dominican economy is the world?s 71st largest economy.

Dominican economy is the 10th largest economy in Latin America. Only the following countries/dependencies have larger economies than the DR (in economic ascending order):

Guatemala $59 billion
Puerto Rico $68 billion
Venezuela $145 billion
Peru $155 billion
Chile $169 billion
Colombia $281 billion
Argentina $483 billion
Mexico $1 Trillion
Brazil $1 Trillion

Santo Domingo metro area accounts for around 40% of the total Dominican economy or around $22 billion.

This makes the economy of the city of Santo Domingo alone roughly the size of the economy of Bolivia, the 107th largest economy of the world.

Thus, the economy of Santo Domingo alone is either at or bigger than the following select national economies of Latin America (in descending order):

Bolivia $22 billion
Panama $20 billion
Honduras $18 billion
Nicaragua $12 billion
Haiti $12 billion
Jamaica $11 billion
The Bahamas $5 billion

The economy of the city of Santo Domingo is larger than 54% of the world?s national economies.

Within the Caribbean archipelago region, the Dominican economy is the largest if we restrict to independent Caribbean nations, and the second largest if we include foreign dependencies, which would make Puerto Rico the largest at $68 billion.