Falling in Love with Cibao

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Given the very positive response I received when I posted the description of Santo Domingo a few weeks ago, here I give a shot at the Cibao.... Enjoy!

Few places on earth are as beautiful or environmentally pleasant as the Cibao Valley. Protected to the north by the abrupt Cordillera Setentrional, protected to the south by the impressive Cordillera Central in the middle sits the deepest top soil in the world, rich in nutrients and nitrogen, essential for good farming. It’s no surprise that this is also the home of the largest concentration of farms in the entire Caribbean. Big plantations jostle for space with small conucos. A line of industrial colonial towns carpet the valley floor along the main carreteras, particularly the Santiago-Moca-San Francisco route and the Santiago-La Vega route. In many places, these ribbon towns spread through such a wide area that it’s hard to tell where one town ends and the other begins. Despite the overpopulation of the valley, there are gems. The vistas that are revealed when the scenery along the road quickly changes from development to plantations are awe inspiring. One minute you see wood and cement homes one after the other and then, it clears into a sprawling cattle ranch dotted by clumps of mature Royal Palm trees on one side of the road and on the other it’s a forest of banana and plantains trees. Regardless of the view, the mountain backdrop is never too far away to give some extra color to the local scenery.