Buying at Puerto Chiquito, Tropicana Sur

ace

Apr 11, 2004
Hello, I am about to buy two apartments at Tropicana Sur ,the purchase price for both is $53,000 .I have visted a few times before making my offer. It seems to me the hole complex was being sold with new owners who will invest in making it a better place.The one bedrooms are being made into 2 bedrooms,(converting the rear balcony into a bedroom) the 1st and 2nd floor apartments are being converted to one apartment.I have read the thread on here from Jan. A lot of negative stuff. Can you please tell me if you think good things are happening there and a turn around is in the future.
Thank you for your time.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Most certainly, I am no RE expert, or even samrt in that area.

However, Puerto Chiquito? Isn't that near Sosúa Abajo? Just befor you go down the hill?

Wasn't that area near the mouth of the Sosúa River? Highly contaminated beaches and even the ocean?

If I am wrong, I apoligize. Escott, help me here, please?

I get the feeling that maybe real long term it might work out but short and medium term this has to be a loser since the environment is so poor...Some people say it smells real bad on some days. This is a case of the infrastructure never catching up to the population pressures. Again, if this is where I think it is.

HB :ermm:

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
If this is the former Sandcastle (Puerto Chiquito)... The government actually built apartments to relocate the people who live at the river mouth, but then persons with influence got the apartments and the people were never relocated. The apartment complex was gorgeous, designed by leading architect Eduardo Lora and if the people can be relocated (some day it should happen as they are living in the worse of circumstances) then you have made a steal of a buy. Find out the timeline and why they feel these people will be relocated.

Gringo

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002