Steping back into the 1960s

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A friend of mine emailed me this link. It has photos of Santo Domingo in 1963, starting with Trujillo's Yacht, etc. Very interesting. These photographs were taken by an American (I suppose) visitor at the time...

http://www.ussrankin.org/kortkamp/id4.htm

Apr 26, 2002
I suspect that the unidentified tropical port is Haina, where the USN frequently made call. The hotel is the Embajador. The "Farmers Market" is the Mercado Modelo, prior to it becoming a shop for puerqueria. And how about all of those mechanized howitzers?!?! Trujillo was ready to start World War III!

I wonder how many of the sailors in those photos came back as repeat tourists in 1965.

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Porfio_Rubirosa said:
I suspect that the unidentified tropical port is Haina, where the USN frequently made call. The hotel is the Embajador. The "Farmers Market" is the Mercado Modelo, prior to it becoming a shop for puerqueria. And how about all of those mechanized howitzers?!?! Trujillo was ready to start World War III!

I wonder how many of the sailors in those photos came back as repeat tourists in 1965.
I think Trujillo had already met his maker by the time those photos were taken.

If I remember correctly, the photos are from 1963, Trujillo met his fate on May of 1961.

This also explains why they took a photo in Trujillo's yacht bedroom. Only Trujillo, his immediate family, and mistresses ever saw that room when he was alive.

Another hint is the fact that the photos mention of "Santo Domingo". During Trujillo's reign, this metropolis we know today (of course was a small town back then) was known as Ciudad Trujillo and nobody in their right mind would have ever referred to this city by its former more appealing name.