Best dog to get?

Danny W

Bronze
Mar 1, 2003
We will be getting a dog when we move into our new house in Sosua next year. It will be a faminly pet and live in the house, but must be percieved as a guard dog by strangers (bark at people) - that's why we're getting it. I'm a fan of mixed breeds, as they seem to be more intelligent and less prone to breed specific maladies, but I'm no expert. There are kids in the house, and they will have friends coming and going, so even temper is a must. All you expeienced dog owners, I'd love your advice. - D

Ricardo900

Silver
Jul 12, 2004
Danny W said:
We will be getting a dog when we move into our new house in Sosua next year. It will be a faminly pet and live in the house, but must be percieved as a guard dog by strangers (bark at people) - that's why we're getting it. I'm a fan of mixed breeds, as they seem to be more intelligent and less prone to breed specific maladies, but I'm no expert. There are kids in the house, and they will have friends coming and going, so even temper is a must. All you expeienced dog owners, I'd love your advice. - D
German Shepherd or Labrador Retriever (female, very protective of family) and they are excellent guard dogs!

carina

Silver
Mar 13, 2005
German Sheperd, although they grow very big.
I have a dalmation. She is the best, she guards, the barks, she understands alot...and sits in the sofa and tries to steal my bed...
Killer in basketball in the are too!

juanita

Bronze
Apr 22, 2004