CHILDREN AND MALARIA TABLETS/alcohol

stormrainbow

Aug 2, 2003
Hi all

I know this is a common topic..is malaria tablets needed and I see the majority say the tablets are not needed (we will be in Puerta Plata). But as a parent I have that worry that I should use some protection for my 4 yr old boy, but I also feel that these medicines can be very unhealthy! Any comments on children taking malaria tablets/syrup? I would really appreciate any help as people here in the uk are forcing these tablets at me, but the people who live in the DR dont seem to feel the need. Also I have read somewhere that you cant drink with Niviquine and other tablets/or only very little...Im no alchoholic but I dont really wish to be t total, or even limit myself to a glass of wine at dinner on my dream holiday!!! I want to let my hair down, lol!:classic:

So you lucky people who live there or anyone who indeed can help, Id love to hear from you.

Thank you......Emma

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Unless you are planning to spend most of your time in a Bateye (a sugar cane ramshackle community, most often filled with Haitian migrants) or be anywhere near the Haitian border, then you have nothing to worry about.

What you should be worried about is sun burn, bring the best sun block cream you can find.

Enjoy your stay!;)

-NAL

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Nal has said it right.

I was going to say :"Aw come on! Will you?" I have lived here for 40+ years and never taken a malaria tablet after the first year (when I was required to do so) and Ha never had any problems.

You are not going to Cameroon or the Ivory Coast or Togo for God's sake!
These are some nice places you will be visiting. I have taken my family to Puerto Plata for weeks every summer for more than twenty years...Nothing!

Bring (1) Really good (30+) Sun Block, you Brits are too white and look like lobsters after two days!!-> wrinkles down the line.