Guitar Purchase and Lessons in Puerto Plata

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
I am asking for a friend who has a 15 year old daughter who wants to learn how to play a guitar. Any information that anyone can give me on the price and availability of guitars, and the availability of instruction will be appreciated.

Price is a consideration.

Information on the purchase of guitars in Santiago would also be helpful.

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
www.azconatechnologies.com
For god's sake buy your guitar in the US and bring it on the plane. Every guitar for sale in the DR is overpriced, and just about worthless at any price.

I have been playing guitar for 30 of my 34 years and am sort of a collector.

Well OK I have seen some OK entry-level Yamaha's for sale around but the prices are outrageous.

Why don't you order from musiciansfriend.com and have it sent through business mail?

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com
MrMike said:
For god's sake buy your guitar in the US and bring it on the plane. Every guitar for sale in the DR is overpriced, and just about worthless at any price.

Well OK I have seen some OK entry-level Yamaha's for sale around but the prices are outrageous.

Why don't you order from musiciansfriend.com and have it sent through business mail?

I agree. I visited several music stores in La Capital (SDQ) and not just tha the prices are outragous, there is little variety and much is junk. Fly into MIA... check out Sam Ash or Guitar Center and the flight will most likely pay for itself.
I am even bringing my congas! Imagine, bringing congas from Europe to El Caribe!! :nervous: ... and then, there's my electric bass, my steel guitar, and my amps.

Best way to learn to play guitar, is to go out and play with a band.

... J-D.

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
MrMike said:

Yep I wandered into Sam Ash in Miami on a recent trip and it's only the power of God and credit card limits that ever got me outa there.

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com