Moving for internship in January

tourismstudent

Nov 28, 2005
Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie here! Thank goodness there are websites like this. I am moving to Puerta Plata in January for two months to do an internship. Can you guys give me some advice on living there? I am looking into a bed and breakfast called Gite De Anges. Does anyone know it at all? I am also wondering about safety issues, being a single women living there alone. Also, do water and electricity go out a lot there? Thanks!

Stef ;)

carina

Silver
Mar 13, 2005
Hi, do you know where this place is located? I have lived here for years and years and never heard of it.. Learned something new!

Water goes off only when electricity goes off, if it is connected to the electricity.
Electricity is not too bad lately, but that changes all the time, one week fine, next week crap...
Last weeks we have had electricity more or less all the time.

There are many threads on this site you can read, do a search on moving to DR, moving to puerto plata etc.
As an intern you will be well taken care of, I am sure.

tourismstudent

Nov 28, 2005
kind of freaking out...

Do you mean where is the bed and breakfast? I think its in Costambar...and the resort is in Cofresi Beach. I am a volunteer intern, so I still need to find my own apartment and pretty much live on my own. I am actually feeling VERY freaked out right now! I have been reading all of these negative things about living in the D.R...even though I'm just going for two months, I don't know whether I can do it on my own. I have never ever been there before, so I don't know what to expect. I have been reading a ton of these posts and I just don't know what to think!!

Someone PLEASE tell me...is it a mistake for me to be living as a 21 year old woman in Puerta Plata by myself...your responses can really ease my decision (though I already told the resort that I am coming for two months..)

Stef

Malibook

Bronze
Jan 23, 2002
www.yourtraveltickets.com