Which hotel in Santiago ?

Uzin

Bronze
Oct 26, 2005
I am in Santiago for a couple of nights and plan to stay at Hotel Colonial. But a few posts mentioned that it is in a terrible street/area with all the drug dealers, hookers etc. and some question marks over the safety and security of the hotel. (I guess that is a trade off for being in down town !)

It's my first time in DR and very little Spanish so all I want (for 2 nights) is to make sure when I get back to my room I can still find my suitcase and I am not robbed in the middle of the night (in the hotel or that street) ! So is this hotel OK in that respect (I can cope with anything else for 2 nights).

The alternatives I've heard are Hotel Platino or Hotel Aloja Sol, any recommendations ? (best be central, though not sure where that is ! I heard El Monument is nice to hang out and I need to get to Caribe Tour terminal.)

Thanks,
A.

rellosk

Silver
Mar 18, 2002
Unless things have recently changed, you don't need to worry about robbed in or around the Hotel Colonial. While it is in the bad part of town, I didn't notice drug dealers or street walkers when I stayed there. The Hotel itself is kind of dingy, but what can you expect for about $500RD.

The Hotel Platino is in a much better part of town, and is a much better hotel, but the basic rooms are tiny, and the rate for a basic room is more than triple that of Hotel Colonial.

Last edited:

Squat

Tropical geek in Las Terrenas
Jan 1, 2002
Colonial and Monterey are great, cheap, no problems whatsoever...

Camp David, in the mountains, is really nice as well, but it's far away from everything...

Ricardo900

Silver
Jul 12, 2004
It's safe in that area at night, have not been approached by any drug dealers, a few hookers and laborers hanging out at Hotel Lima on the corner and the rooms are secure with a guard to let you in at night.
If you can afford or want to spend more for comfort, then Aloha Sol might be a better option. You get what you pay for, nada mas.