Whats the law in the DR?

Baby Girl

Sep 23, 2005
Im new to most of the topics on this forum and this may have very well been asked and answered already before,

I have been trying to read up on the DR culture and life. This forum has been very interesting on answering questions that I have had.

I was wondering, what laws there are to govern drug use .....
How popular drugs are, what happens if caught with them...etc...??
Can somebody please clear that up for me
Thanks

*Baby Girl

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
The responds you will get is. Forget it, don't even mention the word it to anyone. Prisons in the DR are pure hell. You have no rights when it comes to drugs of any amount.

Even though I've read that there is more drug use than before I don't think the laws have changed.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Baby Girl said:
Im new to most of the topics on this forum and this may have very well been asked and answered already before,

I have been trying to read up on the DR culture and life. This forum has been very interesting on answering questions that I have had.

I was wondering, what laws there are to govern drug use .....
How popular drugs are, what happens if caught with them...etc...??
Can somebody please clear that up for me
Thanks

*Baby Girl
If you are caught with illegal drugs, kiss your life good bye.

Oh, and don't think that being a foreigner would be different, because there was a Puertorican woman (who obviously has American citizenship, etc) who got caught attempting the leave the country with some illegal drugs and she spent a good number of years in a jail cell in Higuey, JUST WAITING FOR HER TRIAL!

She even got sick and was hospitalized for a while.

I forgot her name.

In short, drugs and DR don't mix too well. It's one of the few things authorities will not get deterred from enforcing.

Oh, they will take your bribe, but don't expect them to let you go.

-NAL

Last edited:

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com