Sales/Marketing Job

jrf

Bronze
Jan 9, 2005
Wondering what success I may have in finding a "decent" job in sales/marketing within the DR.
Decent meaning more than the usual 8000 peso/month.

I have four years retail management experience and 9 years outside sales and marketing experience. Speak some spanish. Have owned my own business before and am familiar with the life and culture in the DR.
Any thoughts or suggestions?

I have been searching my country information for companies within the DR and have a large listing of companies doing business there-but am getting the feeling it may be best to locate work while in the DR first.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

jrf

Bronze
Jan 9, 2005
Spnish

So, if my post is written in pur spnish or whtever it gets replies-at least a stupid comment would be great-there usually are so many flying around out there-
was this ahopeless post/question or just too boring ?
oh well.

A

apostropheman

ok, i'll bite:rambo:

if you mean a job in sales that "may" pay more no problem. there are apparantly tons of commission sales positions in timeshares and the like. however, if you think that you can contact what appears to be the parent company in say the USA or Canada and secure a high paying position in the DR it probaly won't happen.

my understanding, 1st, 2nd and 3rd hand, is that in order to land a "decent" job in the DR you have to be established there AND speak fluent spanish AND be more qualifed than local residents or at very least there would have to be a really good reason to hire a foreigner over an equally qualified local.

if it worked like you appear to hope i'd be working there now making a ton of USD...but i'm in the "great white north" freezing my cojones off in my igloo with my sled dogs:eek:

in all seriousness i've also looked here in Canada, and the USA, and have reached the same conclusion...it ain't gonna happen.