Agriculture question for Hillbilly

RHM

Doctor of Diplomacy
Sep 23, 2002
www.thecandidacy.com
I was going to PM this question to Hillbilly but decided to throw it out here...and will make it short.

I was in the supermarket recently buying some fruit and vegetables. I reached for some nectarines and noticed that they were priced pretty high. About RD$ 140 for two small ones. The price won't put me in the poor house immediatley but seemed a little bit high.

I am not an agriculture expert. Maybe nectarines are expensive everywhere and I just never noticed. Is there a "local answer"?

Scandall

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
Scandall said:
Yeah, no ****. But I always assumed they were grown here too. And maybe they are but for some reason are expensive. Who knows! That is why I asked.
Scandall

There are local nectarines Scandall. They are a little smaller and a little greener round the edges. The skin is somewhat 'tighter' (words escape me.. ;)) I have no idea where they are grown.

carina

Silver
Mar 13, 2005
The expensive ones we see at the supermercados are imported.
Usually from US and South America ( mainly Chile ) and also from Canada.
As with apples, grapes, and pears for example, nectarines are not native in the amount to be found in supermarkets.
In the last published figures, 2002, DR imported fruit for over US$9 millions.

There is alot of interesting stuff to read for the one who wants to know more in the Country Commercial Guide for Dominican Republic Fiscal.
http://www.amcham.org.do/english/infoeconomy/interest/DR_CCG_2004.pdf.

Eddyx

Sep 9, 2005
Chris said:
There are local nectarines Scandall. They are a little smaller and a little greener round the edges. The skin is somewhat 'tighter' (words escape me.. ;)) I have no idea where they are grown.

They are grown in the Constanza Valley

juanita

Bronze
Apr 22, 2004