All times favorites!!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
For those of you who listen to the old and different genres of Dominican music, which particular old song do you like best?

Why?

-NALs

May 12, 2005
I have recently "discovered" some old school bachata and have taken a liking to leonardo paniagua. I can't say there is one particular song of his i like more than any other.

miguel

I didn't last long...
Jul 2, 2003
The good old days!!

NALs said:
For those of you who listen to the old and different genres of Dominican music, which particular old song do you like best?

Why?

-NALs
Do you remember that Orquesta that used to arrange and play for Trujillo, named "Orquesta Santa Cecilia", well, if I am not mistaken, they had an album or song named "Salve San Cristobal" that my father used to play all the time. I loved all the songs on that LP.

I remember being about 5 or 6 and I used to love their suave merengues. I purchased the LP about 20 years ago and a friend "borrowed it" and never returned it.

Also, I used to love the "Diplomaticos De Haiti" merengues.

Also, the old Perico Ripiao

Crap, I even liked the old Rafael Solano's Mangulinas.

Do you remember "Los Algodones" by Rafael Solano?. Great merengue!.

Now, about which song I prefer, boy, there are just way too many. I can name a whole bunch from Johnny Ventura, Orquesta Santa Cecilia, Orquesta San Rafael (the other Trujillo orquesta), El Cieguito de Nagua, Ramon Leonardo, Omar Franco, Nini Caffaro, Lope Balaguer, Fernando Casado and many others.

Now, a little trivia for you and whomever wants to "play", what genre was Wilfrido Vargas first album?. The winner, within 30 minutes, will get 10 Presidentes from me and will be sent, via Metro or Caribe tour to your hometown!.

Last edited:

miguel

I didn't last long...
Jul 2, 2003
Ay mi madre!

Hipocrito Mejia said:
Damm Miguel, you're old! :rambo:
Come on, "calvito" Mejia, I will be 44(?) soon.