are inverters capable of powering airconditioners

billyidol

Banned
Feb 9, 2004
is it possible for the inverters to power an airconditioner? or will the aircon drain the inverter's batteries? im not an expert on this so if you have any thoughts!

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
billyidol said:
is it possible for the inverters to power an airconditioner?
Yes, but not a great idea
billyidol said:
or will the aircon drain the inverter's batteries?
Yes, big time.
billyidol said:
im not an expert on this so if you have any thoughts!
Buy a generator with double the capacity of your maximum consumption. Turn everything on in the house, measure the consumption with an ampmeter, and double that amount. If you buy a generator that barely can handle the load, you will burn it out quickly.

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
www.azconatechnologies.com
Ever see that commercial, I think its for an SUV where a semi truck is stranded and the dude in the SUV gives him a tow?

That's kind of what its like to run an AC on an inverter. It's physically possible but not recommendable and certainly puts alot more strain on your system than what you want to apply regularly.

If the guy in the commercial went out towing semi trailers in his SUV every day you can bet he's not going to get HALF the gas mileager his vehicle is rated for, and that will be the least of his problems.

Same goes for those of you who try to run an AC with you inverter.

AZB

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
I have never heard of anyone running an A/C with an inverter.
AZB

Jon S.

Bronze
Jan 25, 2003
Most A/Cs in the DR are 220V and they are window units. Most inverters are hooked up to house so they can power up all 110V outlest but they're wired to bypass the 220V outlets. I've yet to hear of anyone that actually uses their inverter to power their A/C in the DR.

THE GAME

Jul 13, 2005
www.nydailynews.com
Jon S. said: