legal transporting of a firearm

midnitemed

Dec 7, 2005
I am a retired police officer planning to move to the D.R. in July. Does anyone know how I can legally transport my firearms to the D.R. and then how I can legally carry them?

HOWMAR

Silver
Jan 28, 2004
midnitemed said:
I am a retired police officer planning to move to the D.R. in July. Does anyone know how I can legally transport my firearms to the D.R. and then how I can legally carry them?
You will have to get Permanent Residency first to apply for a gun permit.

midnitemed

Dec 7, 2005
I may be putting the cart before the horse. I gather I need to get permanent residency, but how do i go about shipping the firearms overseas?

Ricardo900

Silver
Jul 12, 2004
What calibers??

midnitemed said:
I may be putting the cart before the horse. I gather I need to get permanent residency, but how do i go about shipping the firearms overseas?
Also, I know it's none of my business, but why would you need to carry a firearm in the DR?? It will only get you in trouble.
Where did you retire from?

Eddy

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
midnitemed said:
Forget it, to much hassle "Not to say impossible" Get one here afer you arrive and get residency. Expect to pay up to 3 times the value here. I sold my S&W for 500.00 12 years ago (With all the accessories). Here the cost US$2000.00. Don't expect to be able to carry it. Next to impossible "very difficult" for someone to get a concealed weapon permit.

macocael

Bronze
Aug 3, 2004
www.darkhorseimages.com
Is that true Eddy? I know a few people here with carry permits, legit ones we are talking, but I didnt ask them what the had to go through to get them.