Heart Program at Cabral Y Baez Hospital

DRshooter

Apr 23, 2004
There has been a team of Heart Surgeons from Ft. Myers, Fl. that has come down to Santiago about 10 times to do heart surgery on poor patients.
They have operated 100 patients to date. They have donated equipment valued at more than 600,000 dollars. If you add the cost of doing open heart surgery on 100 people in the US, then they have contributed close to 4 million dollars to the city of Santiago. Most of the patients are young (mid 20's-early 30's) that have been afected by reuhmatic fever, a disease that ruins heart valves. This does not happen in the 1st world, only in the 3rd world, where primary care is deficient. Without these operations, these people would face certain death.
I have been lucky enough to be a part of this group on several occassions, starting when I was a medical student at Cabral y Baez Hospital.
I thought I'd share with the forum and hopefully help get the word out of what is being done.
http://www.heartmission.com

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I am wondering just who this "DRshooter is" ????

That program has been going on a long time and they do great work. Recently a group from Phoenix, AZ sent down a container of medical equipment valued at well over a quarter of a million dollars--for free! There is a foundation there in Phoenix run by one of the PUCMM grads who has established his practice in AZ...

People care.

HB :D:D:D

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
Heart valve disease is very prevalent in the DR, and contrary to the OP's opinion, it is due less to infections (rheumatic, others) than to congenital/genetic factors. Also, there are many institutions, both local and foreign, addressing the problem, performing hundreds of operations yearly. Now it is a common procedure to use valve tissue from pigs to repair and reconstruct human heart valves...

-

DRshooter

Apr 23, 2004
Mirador said: