Teacher????

Rodriguez.R

Mar 8, 2006
Ok, so if you are fluent in English and Spanish, have a MS degree in Education, a BA degree in Spanish, 6 years of teaching experience with a teaching license, and 3 years of customer service (not including teaching)..........what's a reasonable salary or pay per hour in DR (Sosua, Cabarete, Puerto Plata area) as a teacher. I had a phone interview yesterday and they pay 140 pesos per hr....What about the customer service and/or private industry? >>>>>Any suggestions........sugerencias?:surprised

Estrella1

Jan 13, 2006
Don't dream...

Hi!
I have learned 7 languages, speak fluently Spanish, French, English, Dutch,... I have lots of diplomas in different fields (I owned also my own company,...). I used to be a teacher for more than 20 years and last year I found a job here in Dominican Republic. I worked as a guest service in a big resort : almost 60 hours/week for....10 000 pesos/month!!! Good luck if you find something better (and send me the address...). Everybody told me it was a very good salary, so....

Nov 5, 2004
It totally depends on the school you are teaching in, I would assume. I haven't looked around at other schools, so I don't know what their salaries are like.

I teach at a private school in Costambar, and the salary ranges depending on your education. But with your qualifications I think you should be able to make some good $$. The teachers with degrees make about $16,000+ pesos a month. More if they have worked there for a number of years.I won't post my salary on here, if you want more info send me a private message.

I do know some schools in Puerto Plata who pay considerably less then where I work, and the hours are much longer.

I work from 8am-2pm at the school and have 2 or 3 45 minute breaks during the day (when they have their spanish lessons, since I teach only in english) which I use to do my marking, so I won't have as much to do at home.