First Round - Friday's Games

DRPAWA

Sep 3, 2004
DR to Join Korea...

DR should be able to easily beat Australia in tonight's game. If they do they will go into the second round undefeated as did Korea. What will be interested about tonight's PR - Cuba game is who will also go into the second round undefeated. My pesos are on PR - but it should be a blast and the game itself will certainly be worth watching.

If anyone is going to be in Brooklyn tonight and available to watch the game in one of many DR restaurants in Brooklyn that will be showing this game let me know. (I'll check my PMs.)

qgrande

Bronze
Jul 27, 2005
Panama-The Netherlands has started

After the first inning it's The Netherlands 5 - Panama 0

:cool: :)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
miguel said:
Cleef, isn't there another popular thread, started by ME, that "talks" about the same thing that you want to "talk" here?.

Copycat, perhaps?.
Just remember,

Only good things are copied! ;)

-NALs

Musicqueen

Miami Nice!
Jan 31, 2002
Cleef said:
Not a very good bet, but I'm (somewhat reluctantly) going to be rooting for South Africa today.

Neat story

My God...Cleef...that is a great story!!! I am impressed...Now I'm torn about who to root for...'cause I always root for the underdog...but now in this game BOTH teams are underdogs!!! ;)

Ok...let's see...may the best team win!!!

MQ

Chris_NJ

Bronze
Dec 17, 2003
That was an interesting story - but it said that Mike Piazza is playing for Italy? How many generations is he removed from Italy - probably more than ARod is from DR.

Cleef

Bronze
Feb 24, 2002
I'm guessing.

Chris_NJ said:
That was an interesting story - but it said that Mike Piazza is playing for Italy? How many generations is he removed from Italy - probably more than ARod is from DR.
But I believe it's at least two, so yes, way more than AR.

I thought T. Lasorda was his uncle or something (godfather?) like that and his parents were first generation.