Old autopista Duarte

stewart

Mar 1, 2004
I was just wanting to know if the old autopista duarte is still intact and accessable. I mean the one that ran right through La Vega and Bonao. It ran to the west of Villa Altagracia. Can you still get from Santiago to SD on it?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
stewart said:
Anyone out there have an answer???
I have a question, why would anyone choose to use the old highway when the relatively new one is much better?

To answer your question, part of the old highway still exist, but much of it has been replaced by the newer (well, it's not that new anymore) autopista which runs along the same trayectory as the old carretera.

-NALs

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
You have to turn off the highway at Villa Altagracia, Bonao and La Vega to drive through the cities. The autopista bypasses them.

stewart

Mar 1, 2004
Why would I use the old one? Nostalgia.

NALs said:
I have a question, why would anyone choose to use the old highway when the relatively new one is much better?

To answer your question, part of the old highway still exist, but much of it has been replaced by the newer (well, it's not that new anymore) autopista which runs along the same trayectory as the old carretera.

-NALs

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
FYI: The only one that might be nostalgis is the one through Bonao.
You have to turn off at the Shell Station-> to the right and follow that road to the narrow bridge, through town, then turn left to get back to the highway.

As I recall, the old road was tree lined into town. Lots of nice old homes lined it.

In La Vega, (these directions are if you are heading South) you would take the turn off for jarabacoa and continue along that road until it comes out on the other side of town. The only nice part would be the flamboyan trees lining the last part.