Italian-Dominicans and/or Italians living in DR, take a look...

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This I found in the paper of one of the towns in my area, since it sort of includes the DR (read the quotes below, click on the link for the full aritcle) I think it's appropriate for DR1.

"Ask Quintino Cianfaglione about Italian culture and he'll start listing some of the country's great artists and scholars."

"The Wethersfield man hopes his passion about his native country will help him win a seat in the Italian Parliament. For the first time this year, the political body in Rome will have representatives who work on behalf of Italians living abroad..."

"Italians living abroad have been fighting for more than 15 years to have representatives in the Italian Parliament, said Vincent Martino of Stamford, who left Italy in 1950."

"If elected, Cianfaglione would represent Italians living in...the Dominican Republic. The job would require him to spend 30 percent of his time in Rome and 30 percent in his community abroad, with the remaining 40 percent left for himself."

Source: http://www.stamfordadvocate.com/new...,6431855.story?coll=stam-news-local-headlines
-NALs

juancarlos

Bronze
Sep 28, 2003
"This I found in the paper of one of the towns in my area..."

So, Nals, you live in Conneticut?

The only thing I see in this report which I think will be a little difficult, is for that Italian man in the US to represent so many Italians living in all of those different countries. Maybe he should represent US Italians and those living in the other countries mentioned should represent their respective communities. I am sure there are enough Italians in the DR to have their own repr. in the Italian Parliament and it would not be difficult to find one willing to do it. Of course, the whole thing probably has to do with the way proportional representation is asigned in Italy.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
juancarlos said: