Teaching english in a small town or the mountains

attenewg

Feb 1, 2006
Teaching English In A Small Town Or The Mountains

Hello everyone this is my first time posting. I will be returning to the DR soon and would like to get a job teaching english in a small town or in the mountains. I am not looking for any type of outrageous salary. I would like to teach maybe in Sabaneta or Jamao. I am a native English speaker and have my certfication on TESOL/TEFL. I have done a lot of administrative work, home schooling and tutuoring here in th US. My main concern is finding housing in these areas as well as how do I go about getting into the school system? Can anyone give me advise?

Last edited:

attenewg

Feb 1, 2006
Thank you for the link. I am aware there are private schools available, but in the mountains and the very small towns there are no private schools. Does anyone know how I can get into the school system and where do I apply for public schoo? How difficult is it to get into the public school system?

mountainfrog

On Vacation!
Dec 8, 2003
www.domrep-info.com
Rural Teaching

attenewg said:
... how I can get into the school system and where do I apply for public schoo? How difficult is it to get into the public school system?

Find out from:
http://www.see.gov.do/sitesee/default.htm

IF you get a job (which I doubt, because there are enough Dominican teachers for Government schools), expect to live in very poor conditions and mainly on the money you bring with you.

m'frog

attenewg

Feb 1, 2006