Immigration-What is the average wait time?

dominican_daisy

Apr 18, 2006
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this....pls be nice...;)

Like many others on this board, i have recently sent the application for my husband to immigrate to Canada.

Does anyone have any insight as to how long the average wait time is?

i know that it could take anywhere from 3 months-16 months...but wanted to hear from anyone who has recently been sucessful.

Thank you,
Dominican_Daisy

dominican_daisy

Apr 18, 2006
Thank you Anna,

But...

I would like to hear from anyone who has already gone through this and has been successful in bringing their spouse to Canada recently.

I would like to hear from people who can give information on their recent experiences, so I can know what to expect next!

For example: How many people have had to go through the interview process, what kinds of questions they ask? etc.....

I know every case is different but it would be nice to read about people who have just finished this process

Thanks,
Dominican Daisy

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Although not the DR, My brother's wife just came to Canada from Cuba and the process took 10 months. In 99/2000 it took my wife (Dominican) 8 months.

scotia

Mar 18, 2004
It took us 7 months from April - November 2005 including a 2 month wait, for the visa and return of passport, after the September interview.

dominican_daisy

Apr 18, 2006
scotia said:
It took us 7 months from April - November 2005 including a 2 month wait, for the visa and return of passport, after the September interview.

Thanks everyone,

Scotia....may I ask what is involved in the interview, were you both interviewed and what kind of questions do they ask?

Thanks...your info would be great!

Dominican Daisy

rhodesey

Apr 17, 2006
Visitor Visa-is this possible at all?