Never been to the DR

christyhughes

Apr 25, 2006
I am a single woman in my 30s and I am thinking of moving to the DR, but I have never been there. So I would like to visit before making a decision. I am a science and math teacher and would like to teach at an english school. I am open to any suggestions anyone can give for my first trip to visit and/or finding a job and/or moving. Are there any areas that are a must to visit (not as tourist, but as a prospective resident)?

mountainfrog

On Vacation!
Dec 8, 2003
www.domrep-info.com
TEFL, etc.

christyhughes said:
.... I am a .... teacher and would like to teach at an english school....
England then?

These days the number of foreign teachers who feel compelled to help this country with their skills is overwhelming and indeed encouraging.

Yes, this country needs you...
and your money.
Welcome.

m'frog

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Use the search function.....

Keywords.....

Teaching, English Schools, Pay rates, best places to live,

Before you even begin to think of moving here you need to come for summer vacation and spend a couple months touring the country, familiarizing yourself with the island.

Better yet volunteer with one of the organizations that do charity work here and you'll experience real life in the DR.

Have you thought of moving to one of the Asian or Middle Eastern countries that are crying for English language teachers???

Or has the lure of a tropical paradise close to home infiltrated your grey matter?

Asia and the middle east have tropical paradises also at a much more lucrative pay scale.

MommC

On Vacation!
Mar 2, 2002
dr1.com
Forgot to ask......

Do you speak Spanish?????

Even if you could get a job teaching in an English language school, you will still need to speak the local language!

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com