is it possible? or am I delusional?

darkstar68@msn.com

Apr 28, 2006
Hi,

Hoping for some input. I have an opportunity for 2 wks off this summer--my 11 yr old and I haven't taken a vacation together(or longer than 3 days any way) for 6 yrs. I have been daydreaming about DR for a couple yrs now and wondering if it is possible to do for under 2500. I'm totally undecided --resorts are not really our style--(we're the camping type) and it seems a shame to visit a forwign country and stay in a vacuum. I'm just concerned about cost of food, hidden expenses that arise and safety as a single mother travelling with a kid. I would ideally like to stay in an out of the way place (or split it up--Las Terrennas -bayahibbe-sosua). I'm just wondering if the ai's would be better for maybe half of it or if we could swing it an limited funds. I guess what I'm asking about is how to get the most bang(great beach-safety--etc) for our buck--or to be told it's totally out of our fiscal range.. Thanks for your response!!

G

gary short

Here it is......... purchase a Lonely Planet guide to the Dominican Republic. I've used it extensively and it's bang on. You can have big fun for 2500.u.s. Las Terrenas is a good start. Las Galeras,Bayahibe,Sosua all good. In fact the whole country ,that I've seen, is outstanding.

darkstar68@msn.com

Apr 28, 2006
thanks Gary! have eyed it at the bookstore but wasn't sure how practical an expense it was--(20$ in my head at the time was 1/2 a nights lodging) silly, I know!

G

gary short

Buy it.........it's saved me a fortune. I've used their guides for all of central America and Mexico. I've never been disappointed, especially in regards to the D.R.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
Although I'm not an all inclusive fan myself, you might be able to find a deal at Casa Marina in Sosua.