Highway homes!!

A.Hidalgo

Silver
Apr 28, 2006
Can anyone please tell me why the goverment allows people to build homes literally 10 feet from highways. What is going on here.

mountainfrog

On Vacation!
Dec 8, 2003
www.domrep-info.com
Landless Builders

thanatos said:
Can anyone please tell me why the goverment allows people to build homes literally 10 feet from highways. What is going on here.

They simply do not care.

So people build homes on other people's land, on river banks and .....near highways.

It's against the law, so what?

Don't like it?
Your problem. Employ a lawyer. Pay and (most likely) lose
(money and case).

m'frog

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
thanatos said:

What's going on here! What's going on here! What's going on here!...

There used to be a very popular merengue that went along those lines:

Que es lo que pasa aqu?, ah! Que es lo que pasa aqu?, ah! Que es lo que pasa aqu?, ah!

-

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
thanatos said:
Most of those homes you see scattered along the highways (in addition to the homes/shacks crammed into riverbanks, on government and private lands, etc) were built illegally.

In fact, almost all ramshackle slums in the DR (and perhaps in much of the world) are built by landless peasants who move into the city and due to their poverty, the only thing they can afford to live in are ramshackle slums built on land owned by someone else. Some times agreements are made between the land owner and the squatters, but most of the time it's a virtual invasion against the land owner's will.