Public Transport

ambre

Feb 2, 2006
Hi, in reading past stickies - I noticed that someone had requested one dedicated to public transport in the DR... Does this exist yet?

I've read (and heard stories from my boyfriend who's in the PC) about Guaguas, carros publicos and the like - but can someone please elaborate and expand on the subject? I have been heavily investigating where to live in SD, and I just want to be more educated on how to get around, for example - what's the standard practice for getting to an end destination on a guagua - is there any sort of system - or do the locals just "know" which one to get on? Do they let you know each stop? I am assuming one would get accustomed to the system living there, but I would like some idea before jumping in.
THanks!
Ambre

fightingirish

Dec 8, 2005
I'm a novice compared to the folks youve got on these boards, but here's my experience with guaguas:

1. Have your pesos in your hand or in your shirt pocket before you even begin. Last thing you want to do is fish for them as your destination gets close.

2. Get yourself on a long straight street that heads towards either your destination, or a cross street that you need.

3. Stand on the curb with the crowd. The guagua should stop anyway, if theyve got three inches of space, but if they dont appear to be stopping signal with your hand, pointing down at the street, like "Stop right about here".

3. Before you board, ask the cobrador (who is hanging out the guagua, hissing at women) "Hasta la [name of the intersection you need]?" Meaning, are you going straight on this route as far as the street I need?

4. If he nods, pack your a55 in. It would be good to know some landmarks a few blocks from where you need to get out, so that when you see them you can start to tap shoulders and say, "Por favor" in order to climb out. If the chauffer doesnt appear to be stopping (though this would be rare) shout out

"Dejame!" or "Donde puedes" or "Chofer!"