Looking for work in DR....various questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

americangirl

May 30, 2006
:) I am an American Attorney, interested in living in the Dominican Republic. What sort of jobs do you think I should be looking at? I would like to practice law, but would need a license, etc. Are there any other type jobs I should be looking at, that may be related to law.

Also, what does an English Teacher get paid in the DR?

Do you need to get a visa?

Thanks

mountainfrog

On Vacation!
Dec 8, 2003
www.domrep-info.com
http://www.superpagesdr.com/listings.phtml?SRC=&STYPE=S&N=&T=&S=&C=Abogados

americangirl said:
.... I would like to practice law, but would need a license, etc.
Even with a license you'd compete with thousands (The DR is said to have the highest number of lawyers per capita.)
It seems to be the easiest diploma to get or buy...

americangirl said:
Are there any other type jobs I should be looking at, that may be related to law.
Maybe you could work at a lawyer's doing translations, assuming that you speak Spanish fluently.

americangirl said:
Also, what does an English Teacher get paid in the DR?
Differs and depends.
There are many threads about this.
Do a search.

americangirl said:
Do you need to get a visa?
No, you travel on your passport....
Then you apply for residencia and cedula.

m'frog

americangirl

May 30, 2006
Thank you M'frog...

I speak spanish, but not fluently. I could be fluent in a few months of living there though. I wonder how I could find a law job like you mentioned.

mountainfrog

On Vacation!
Dec 8, 2003
www.domrep-info.com
Abogada

americangirl said:
I wonder how I could find a law job like you mentioned.

Securing a good job here means to know the right people and do a lot of networking.
Can the Dominicans you know not help?
(I'm not referring to your sankie relationship...)

As your Father is Dominican, he may have some connection.

Will you be living in S.D.?

m'frog

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002