Asesinan a 47 personas en los ?ltimos 30 d?as en en provincias del Cibao

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Santiagohombre1 said:
What does everyone think about santiago? DOes everyone feel safe?
What is the motive of this thread in particular? Obviously its attempt to arise fear of Santiago since asking a question of "Does everyone feel safe" after an article pin pointing the number of murders commited in one month in the central region of the Cibao. Keep in mind that the Cibao is much more than Santiago and if one does a little simple math calculations you will find that the murders amounts to 1 person out of every 21,277 central Cibaeños got killed last month alone (assuming a central Cibao population of 1 million, eventhough more than 1 million live in the central Cibao).

Why does DR1 members engage in the tactic that arises the most fear in month long murder rate that hits 1 out of very 21,277 people is beyond comprehension!

Think about this, if you live in Santiago right now, 1 of every 21,277 people might get killed. The chances that such person will be you is very very small.

For visitors its even smaller because the chances of being a victim of crime decreases the less amount of time a person spends in such region. So, if a tourist visits from 2 weeks (which is more than what the average tourist visits the Cibao for) then obviously, the chances that he/she will be a victim of crime are so low they probably have a better chance in dying in a car accident on the way to the airport, since car accidents are the leading cause of death in the DR!

Why are the newspapers not cautioning people about those who take the wheels since they are killing more people than any criminal, disease, etc?