Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Question I'm moving to Dr....HELP!!!

I'm moving from Florida to Santo Domingo and want some advise on a few things.
    1.) I've heard it is better to rent for the first year then to buy, but where do I find reliable landlords? Should I contact a realtor for rental purposes?
    2.) I'm a teacher and I want to look for a job, but I can't read the major newspaper in Santo Domingo because I can't speak Spanish, what are some other options?
    3.) When I come to visit is there any way I can stay somewhere that is not so touristy to get a better feel of what life is like there?
    4.) What are the MOST impotant items to bring that I will definately not be able to acquire or afford in DR?
    That's all for now, if there is anything else you want to add relating to advise on moving there just because, feel free.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to DR1!

Have you been to the DR before?

Is your next trip to the DR going to be a move or an exploratory trip?

Is your job going to be your only source of income in the DR or will you have other income? (Pensions, savings, etc.)

The answer to the above questions will let us better answer the questions you've raised.

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

I have some money saved from real estate and plan to do more real estate investing when I get there, but other than that I will be relying on a Dominican salary. I want to get at least a decent teaching job of 12,000-15,000 pesos a month as I've heard is a reasonable salary for teachers.

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Do you know that this is the equivalent of US$369 to US$461 more or less? Can you survive on that in your home country? Where are you hoping to teach if you don't understand or speak Spanish?

Now, these questions have been asked and you did not answer them...

Have you been to the DR before?

Is your next trip to the DR going to be a move or an exploratory trip?

I'll add a question - Why the DR?