ENERGY: Lights out in the Dominican Republic

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
"...Moreover, according to the central bank, the national grid loses 40% of the electricity generated through theft."

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Actually, it is thru theft and inefficient transmission lines. And the number might even be higher. I have heard as high as 25% for theft alone and 35% from inefficient transmission....Not very encouraging.\\

HB :D:D

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Let's imagine what an improvement the electricity sector (not to mention your electric bill) will have if that 40% that is lost via theft was delivered to their intended customers.... a perfect example of a simple solution that is not so simple to execute!

Reminds me of what a friend of mind told me once: Most people's problems are quite simple.... they don't have money!

With those two statements, I think it has been very simply and easily concluded the problems of the government in managing this persistent problem!

:cheeky: ;)

-NALs

aegap

Silver
Mar 19, 2005
Mirador said:
"...Moreover, according to the central bank, the national grid loses 40% of the electricity generated through theft."

Why pay for something even a dictator used to hand you for free? ;)

Last edited:

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
aegap said:
Why pay for something even a dictator used to hand you for free? ;)

It has been almost fifty years to the day that the late Rafael L. Trujillo Molina, aka El Jefe, decided to nationalize the Electric Company of Santo Domingo, a subsidiary of the Stone & Webster Corporation, and expand the utility to cover non-paying customers in the growing capital city of Ciudad Trujillo and into the interior of the country, forcing out of business the small independent electric utilities serving smaller towns and cities. You are right, 50 years of populism in the electric sector is one bad habit to break.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com