driving from santiago airport to sun village

milleniunthug

Jul 2, 2006
I read this here before, but now I can't find it...I'm arriving in santiago and I'm renting a car to get to sun village, how long is the drive?, is it Duarte all the way?...I've never been to puerto plata or anything beyond santiago.

thanks for the help

sweetdbt

Bronze
Sep 17, 2004
Autopista Duarte to Navarete, where you catch the North coast highway going East to Cofresi.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Why rent? It's a $60 cab ride with an English speaking driver....

Leave the driving to "them" ...

HB

milleniunthug

Jul 2, 2006
Hillbilly said:
Why rent? It's a $60 cab ride with an English speaking driver....

Leave the driving to "them" ...

HB
true, true...but after my 4 day stay in puerto plata I will be driving to san francisco de macoris for 3 days and then to santo domingo, so I figure a $200 car rental fee is not bad since I will be getting around...thanks for the replies

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
milleniunthug said:
true, true...but after my 4 day stay in puerto plata I will be driving to san francisco de macoris for 3 days and then to santo domingo, so I figure a $200 car rental fee is not bad since I will be getting around...thanks for the replies
What ever you do, remember the following tips:

1. Don't drive at night. The roads are fine, but its the cars with broken headlights and high speed drunk driving the problem! Also, in rural areas there could be cows, goats, you name it in the middle of the road or might jump out of nowhere onto the road, just in time for you to slam into them. Whatever you do, don't drive at night.

2. Don't take a risk with gasoline. When it hits half a tank, fill up. Many stations close after dark and sometimes, some stations may be short on gas. Other times you may not find a gas station for kilometers, especially in rural areas.